Greer County Texas Pioneer Certificate

Image of the Greer County CertificateGreer County, Texas, a defunct Texas county, existed from 1860 to 1896 in the Indian territory.  Greer County was comprised of all of present day Greer, Jackson, and Harmon counties in Oklahoma and parts of present day Beckham County, Oklahoma as well as Lipscomb, Hemphill, Wheeler, Collingsworth, and Childress counties in Texas.

Applicant must prove direct or collateral descent from a settler in Greer County between 1860 and 1907.

Application Process

Applicants must be able to prove descent with acceptable documentation for each generation and provide acceptable documentation to prove the applicant’s ancestor was a settler.

Instructions and Frequently Asked Questions with answers are included with the application form.

Completed submissions, with application form and all materials, should be mailed to:

Texas State Genealogical Society
c/o Marynell Bryant
254 County Road 4705
Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482-1831