West Texas Pioneer Certificate

westtexaspioneerTo qualify for a West Texas Pioneer Certificate, the applicant must prove direct or collateral descent from a person who was in West Texas (as defined by list of 133 Counties below) prior to 1901.

Application Process

Instructions and Frequently Asked Questions with answers are included with the application form.

Completed submissions with application form and all materials should be mailed to:

Texas State Genealogical Society
c/o Marynell Bryant
254 County Road 4705
Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482-1831

List of qualifying counties for the West Texas Pioneer Certificate:

  • Andrews, Archer, Armstrong
  • Bailey, Bandera, Baylor, Blanco, Borden, Brewster, Briscoe, Brown, Burnet
  • Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Comanche, Concho, Coryell, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson
  • Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Dimmit, Donley
  • Eastland, Ector, Edwards, El Paso, Erath
  • Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Frio
  • Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Gray
  • Hale, Hall, Hamilton, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard,
  • Hudspeth, Hutchinson
  • Irion
  • Jack, Jeff Davis, Jones
  • Kendall, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney, Knox
  • La Salle, Lamb, Lampasas, Lipscomb, Llano, Loving, Lubbock, Lynn
  • Martin, Mason, Maverick, McCulloch, Medina, Menard, Midland, Mills, Mitchell, Moore, Motley
  • Nolan
  • Ochiltree, Oldham
  • Palo Pinto, Parmer, Pecos, Potter, Presidio
  • Randall, Reagan, Real, Reeves, Roberts, Runnels
  • San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher
  • Taylor, Terrell, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green
  • Upton, Uvalde
  • Val Verde
  • Ward, Webb, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Winkler
  • Yoakum, Young
  • Zapata, Zavala